Advisory Committee

To ensure that the Convent always reflects the needs of tenants, artists and the community in its policies and programming, New Dawn has assembled an Advisory Committee for Eltuek Arts Centre.

About The Committee

Drawing on the experience and expertise of its members, the Advisory Committee provides staff and management with strategic advice, ideas, and reflections on personal experiences that help to ensure the Convent is a vibrant, relevant, and valuable asset to the arts, culture, and Unama’ki/Cape Breton communities.

Committee members attend four meetings per year either in person at the Convent, or virtually. Other responsibilities include:

  • Advising on new activities, opportunities, and directions to be pursued by the Convent.
  • Advising on opportunities to further connect the Convent to local, provincial, national, and global arts resources and networks.
  • Serving as liaison between artists in the community — both those with and without a formal relationship with the Convent.
  • Being an ambassador of the Convent and sharing the work of the Convent and its tenants and activities with the broader community.


  • John Gainer
  • Asta Antoff
  • Bruce Bearnes
  • Jocelyn Bethune
  • Victoria Chapman
  • Frances Chiasson
  • Melissa Kearney
  • Christie MacNeil
  • Deanna Manolakos
  • Lisa McIntyre
  • Bill McNeil
  • Nancy Oakley
  • Sue Reeves
  • Yvette Rogers
  • Mel Sweetnam
  • Kalo Sylvester
  • Jannette Vusich


Membership of the committee adheres to the following membership categories:

  • At least two members of the New Dawn board
  • At least one resident of the Northend of Sydney
  • At least two community-at-large representatives
  • At least five artists who are tenants of the Convent
  • At least two non-artist tenants of the Convent
  • At least two artists not currently working in the Convent